Text from Judith Keene’s all staff email dated Monday 15th March 2021
The past twelve months have seen a massive surge in uptake of all of our learning platforms and the way in which staff have engaged with adapting to teaching online has been incredible.
We are now in a position where usage of our platforms is beginning to exceed our allocated quota from suppliers and, whilst we are keen for people to continue to use these technologies, there is a cost and management implication which we need to be mindful of.
With that in mind we are planning on removing all Collaborate recordings from the previous academic year. If you have any recordings you would like to keep please download them from your Collaborate area by 31st March and upload them to Panopto where they will have the added benefit of being automatically captioned. Please see our step-by-step guidance on how to do this. Any recordings made prior to 1st September 2020 will be removed from the system on 1st April. If you have questions or concerns about this, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org
We also have some suggestions for best practice to help make the best use of Collaborate:
- Only record sessions which will need to be accessed again.
- When recording a long session, stop the recording during breaks or activities offline or in breakout groups.
- If running a session with little or no interactivity consider using the Panopto webcast feature.
- Delete any old recordings which are no longer required (statistics show that the vast majority of recordings are only accessed within 30 days of the original event)
Please also refer to our recent blog post about managing files and videos within your Blackboard course.