With many assessments currently underway and marking season in full swing, it is a good chance for a reminder about the recommended process to ensure a positive student experience.
Once the assignment deadline has passed, and prior to beginning to mark the work, you need to ensure that the relevant column is hidden in the Blackboard grade centre. This will prevent students from seeing their grade as soon as it is entered.
How to do this
Access the Full Grade Centre
Find the column for the assignment and click on the Options button (the round icon with a chevron)
Select the Hide from students on/off toggle
You can tell when the column is hidden as the grade column will now show an icon with a grey circle with a red line through it
It is important to leave the original assessment point visible to students throughout the process to ensure that they always have access to their submission. The reasons for this are:
1. Students are familiar with the submission point in advance, which aids confidence in the submission process.
2. Enables students to refer to their feedback to inform future assessments.
3. Avoids panic and confusion on the students’ behalf.
4. Mitigates any unnecessary support calls and emails to tutors, TEL and the Helpdesk.
If you are unsure whether your submission point is available to students, you can use the Student Preview option to check.